You are here

Collegiate Council

The Collegiate Council is the faculty council of the College of Arts and Humanities. Each academic unit in the College elects one member (and one alternate who attends and votes in the absence of the elected representative) from among its faculty. Faculty representatives serve a term of two years from July 1 after election and may not serve for more than two successive terms. The Dean has voice, but no vote, in the Collegiate Council. *NOTE: The Collegiate Council is a parliamentary body, in which members are identified by and representative of the various instructional units within the college.

Council Members

Department Name Address Phone E-mail
American Studies Jan M. Padios 4115 Susquehanna Hall 301-405-0976 jmpadios@umd.edu
Art Hasan Elahi 0108 Queen Anne's Hall 301-405-7790 helahi@umd.edu
Art History & Archaeology June Hargrove 1211 Art-Sociology Building 301-405-1494 hargrove@umd.edu
Classics Francisco Barrenechea 1210 Marie Mount Hall  301-405-1760  fbarrene@umd.edu
Communication Xiaoli Nann 2105A Skinner Bldg 301-405-0640 nan@umd.edu
English Scott Wible 2119 Tawes Hall 301-405-3809 swible@umd.edu
History Holly Brewer [CHAIR] 2113 Francis Scott Key Hall 301-405-3809 hbrewer@umd.edu
Jewish Studies Rachel Manekin 4147 Susquehanna Hall 301-405-3535 rmanekin@umd.edu
Languages, Literatures and Cultures, School of Alaa Elgibali (ARAB) 3121 Jimenez Hall 301-405-3315 elgibali@umd.edu
Languages, Literatures and Cultures Nan Jiang (SLA) 4117 Jimenez Hall 301-405-1378 njiang@umd.edu
Linguistics Naomi Feldman 1401 Marie Mt. Hall 301-405-5800 nhf@umd.edu
Music, School of Chris Gekker 1130B Clarice Smith Performing Arts Ctr. 301-405-5505 cgekker@umd.edu
Philosophy Rachel Singpurwalla 1120 Skinner Building 301-405-5693 rgks@umd.edu
Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies, School  of Leslie Felbain 2819 Clarice Smith Performing Arts Ctr. 301-405-6672 walterdallas@gmail.com
Women's Studies Ashwini Tambe 2101 Woods Hall 301-405-6877 atambe@umd.edu
Staff Representative - Women's Stuides Laura Nichols 2101 Wood Hall 301-405-6827 lnichols@umd.edu

 

Additional Councils & Committees