You are here

Collegiate Council

The Collegiate Council is the faculty council of the College of Arts and Humanities. Each academic unit in the College elects one member (and one alternate who attends and votes in the absence of the elected representative) from among its faculty. Faculty representatives serve a term of two years from July 1 after election and may not serve for more than two successive terms. The Dean has voice, but no vote, in the Collegiate Council. *NOTE: The Collegiate Council is a parliamentary body, in which members are identified by and representative of the various instructional units within the college.

Council Members

Department Name Address Phone E-mail
American Studies La Marr Bruce 4155 Susquehanna Hall 301-405-1356 ljbruce@umd.edu
Art Hasan Elahi (Chair) 0108 Queen Anne's Hall 301-405-7790 helahi@umd.edu
Art History & Archaeology June Hargrove 1211 Art-Sociology Building 301-405-1494 hargrove@umd.edu
Classics Eric Adler 1210 Marie Mount Hall  301-405-2019 eadler@umd.edu
Communication Xiaoli Nann 2105A Skinner Bldg 301-405-0640 nan@umd.edu
English Amanda Bailey (Vice-Chair) 2119 Tawes Hall 301-405-3809 abailey7@umd.edu
History Thomas Zeller 2117 Taliaferro Hall 301-405-6471 tzeller@umd.edu
Jewish Studies Matthew Suriano 4130 Susquehanna Hall 301-405-0264 msuriano@umd.edu
Languages, Literatures and Cultures, School of

Andrew Schonebaum

 

Mary Ellen Scullen

4104 Jimenez Hall

 

1105C Jimenez Hall

301-405-4043

301-405-4033

 

schone@umd.edu

mscullen@umd.edu

 

Linguistics

Naomi Feldman

Alexander Williams

1401 Marie Mt. Hall

301-405-5800

301-405-1607

nhf@umd.edu

alxndrew@umd.edu

Music, School of Gran Wilson 3121 Clarice Smith Performing Arts Ctr. 301-405-5516 gnwilson@umd.edu
Philosophy Rachel Singpurwalla 1120 Skinner Building 301-405-5693 rgks@umd.edu
Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies, School  of Leslie Felbain 2819 Clarice Smith Performing Arts Ctr. 301-405-6672 lfelbain@gmail.com
Women's Studies Ashwini Tambe 2101 Woods Hall 301-405-6877 atambe@umd.edu
ARHU-Staff Representative  Claire Goebeler 3215D Jimenez Hall 301-405-4927 cgoebeler@umd.edu

 

Additional Councils & Committees