You are here

Chairs & Directors

Directors of Undergraduate Studies
Directors of Graduate Studies
Center Directors

Department Chairs

Department Name
American Studies Nancy Struna, Chair
Art Chip Richardson, Chair
Art History & Archaeology Marjorie Venit, Acting Chair
Classics Lillian Doherty, Chair
Communication Elizabeth Toth, Chair
English William Cohen, Chair
History Philip Soergel, Chair
Jewish Studies Charles Manekin, Director
Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, School of Carol Mossman, Director
Linguistics William Idsardi, Chair
Music, School of Robert Gibson, Director
Philosophy Christopher Morris, Chair
Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies, School of Leigh Smiley, Director
Women's Studies Seung-kyung Kim, Chair

back to top

Directors of Undergraduate Studies

Department Name Office Phone Email
American Studies Mary Sies 1104 Holzapfel Hall 301-405-1361 sies@umd.edu
Art Patrick Craig 2M312 Art-Sociology Building  301-405-1457 pcraig@umd.edu
Art History & Archaeology Yui Suzuki 4212 Art-Sociology Building  301-405-1488 ysuzuki@umd.edu
Classics Greg Staley 2407F Marie Mount Hall 301-405-2016 gstaley@umd.edu
Communication Leah Waks 2101B Skinner Building 301-405-6529 leahwaks@umd.edu
English Thomas Moser 2118 Tawes Hall 301-405-3825 tmoser@umd.edu
History Elsa Barkley-Brown 2115 Francis Scott Key Hall  301-405-4290 barkleyb@umd.edu
Jewish Studies        
Language: Arabic Peter Glanville 4120 Jimenez Hall  301-405-9269 pjg347@umd.edu
Language: Chinese Minglang Zhou 2106 Jimenez Hall 301-405-2855 mlzhou@umd.edu
Language: French Mary Ellen Scullen 3125 Jimenez Hall 301-405-4033 mscullen@umd.edu
Language: German Julie Koser 3210 Jimenez Hall 301-405-4106 jkoser@umd.edu
Language: Italian Joseph Falvo 3103 Jimenez Hall 301-405-4031 gfalvo@umd.edu
Language: Japanese Robert Ramsey 2106G Jimenez Hall 301-405-4256 ramsey@umd.edu
Language: Persian Ahmad Karimi-Hakkak 1220 Jimenez Hall 301-405-3147 karimi@umd.edu
Language: Portuguese Regina Igel 2210 Jimenez Hall 301-405-6457 ri@umd.edu
Language: Russian Elizabeth Papazian 4123 Jimenez Hall 301-405-4329 papazian@umd.edu
Language: Spanish Roberta Lavine 2102 Jimenez Hall 301-405-6443 rlavine@umd.edu
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Studies Marilee Lindemann 2417 Marie Mount Hall 301-405-6349 mlindema@umd.edu
Linguistics Tonia Bleam 1401 Marie Mount Hall 301-405-4930 tbleam@umd.edu
Music Michael Hewitt 2130C CSPAC 301-405-5504 mphewitt@umd.edu
Philosophy Erin Eaker 1118C Skinner Building   301-405-5713 eeaker@umd.edu
Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies Susan Miller/ Anne Warren 2808 CSPAC/ 1935 CSPAC 301-405-6694/ 3187 smille13@umd.edu
awarren@umd.edu
Women's Studies Laura Nichols 2101T Woods Hall 301-405-6827 lnichols@umd.edu

back to top

Center Directors

Center Name
Art Gallery John Shipman
Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center (CSPAC) Susan Farr
David C. Driskell Center Curlee Holton
Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) Neil Fraistat
National Foreign Language Center (NFLC) Catherine Ingold

back to top