You are here

Graduate Degree Programs

ARHU offers Master’s and Doctoral Degrees, MFA degrees, Masters of Professional Studies, and graduate Certificates:

  • M.A., M.M., Ph.D., and DMA degrees in over 18 disciplines including Art History and Archaeology, American Studies, Classics, Communication, Comparative Literature, English, Germanic Studies, History, Linguistics, Modern French Studies, Philosophy, Theater and Performance Studies, Music (Musicology, Ethnomusicology, Music Performance), Second Language Acquisition, Spanish, and Women’s Studies
  • MFAs and Masters of Professional Studies:  Art (Studio), Creative Writing, Dance, Interpretation, Music Performance, Theater Performance, Theater Design, Translation
  • Certificates: Critical Theory, Jewish Studies, Museum Scholarship and Material Culture, Interpretation, Second Language Acquisition, Translation, Women’s Studies
Degrees Offered Masters Doctoral Graduate Director(s) Phone Email
American Studies M.A. Ph.D. Psyche Williams-Forson 301-405-6931 pwforson@umd.edu
Art History & Archaeology M.A. Ph.D. Alicia Volk 301-405-1482 volk@umd.edu
Art (Studio Art) M.F.A.*   Dawn Gavin 301-405-1465 dgavin@umd.edu
Classics M.A.   Judith Hallett 301-405-2024 jeph@umd.edu
Communication M.A. Ph.D. Kristy Maddux &
Brooke Liu
301-405-6533 klmaddux@umd.edu
bfliu@umd.edu
Comparative Literature   Ph.D. Sheila Jelen 301-405-3794 sjelen@umd.edu
Creative Writing M.F.A.*   Stanley Plumly 301-405-3815 splumly@umd.edu
English Language & Literature M.A. Ph.D. Ralph Bauer 301-405-9647 bauerr@umd.edu
French M.A Ph.D. Andrea Frisch 301-405-4028 afrisch@umd.edu
German Language & Literature M.A. Ph.D. Hester Baer 301-405-4101 hbaer@umd.edu
History M.A. Ph.D. Marsha Rozenblit 301-405-4267 rozenbl@umd.edu
Interpretation and Translation M.P.S.*   Shawn Parry-Giles 301 405-6527 spg@umd.edu
Jewish Studies M.A.   Chip Manekin 301-405-4253 manekinc@umd.edu
Linguistics   Ph.D. Howard Lasnik 301-405-4929 lasnik@umd.edu
Music M.A., M.M. D.M.A., Ph.D. Pat Warfield 301-405-1274 pwarfiel@umd.edu
Philosophy M.A. Ph.D. Mathias Frisch 301-405-5710 mfrisch@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition M.A. Ph.D. Steven Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Spanish M.A. Ph.D. Ryan Long 301-405-6446 rlong12@umd.edu
Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies M.A., M.F.A.* Ph.D. Frank Hildy 301-405-3167 hildy@umd.edu
Women's Studies   Ph.D. Michelle Rowley 301-405-0981 mrowley1@umd.edu
           

*MFA = Master of Fine Arts; MPS = Masters of Professional Studies

 

Certificates

Certificates Offered Graduate Contact Phone Email
Critical Theory Orrin Wang 301-405-3809 owang@umd.edu
Jewish Studies Charles H. Manekin 301-405-4253 manekinc@umd.edu
Museum Scholarship & Material Culture Mary Corbin Sies 301-405-1361 sies@umd.edu
Interpretation and Translation Shawn Parry-Giles 301 405 -6527 spg@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition Steve Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Women's Studies Deborah Rosenfelt 301-405-6883 dsr@umd.edu