You are here

Graduate Degree Programs

ARHU offers Master’s and Doctoral Degrees, MFA degrees, Masters of Professional Studies, and graduate Certificates:

  • M.A., M.M., Ph.D., and DMA degrees in over 18 disciplines including Art History and Archaeology, American Studies, Classics, Communication, Comparative Literature, English, Germanic Studies, History, Linguistics, Modern French Studies, Philosophy, Theater and Performance Studies, Music (Musicology, Ethnomusicology, Music Performance), Second Language Acquisition, Spanish, and Women’s Studies
  • MFAs and Masters of Professional Studies:  Art (Studio), Creative Writing, Dance, Interpretation, Music Performance, Theater Performance, Theater Design, Translation
  • Certificates: Critical Theory, Jewish Studies, Museum Scholarship and Material Culture, Interpretation, Second Language Acquisition, Translation, Women’s Studies
Program Masters Doctoral Graduate Director(s) Phone Email
American Studies M.A. Ph.D. Jan Padios 301-405-0976 jmpadios@umd.edu
Art History & Archaeology M.A. Ph.D. Joshua Shannon 301-405-1485 shannon1@umd.edu
Art (Studio Art) M.F.A.*   Justin Strom 301-405-7790 jstrom@umd.edu
Classics M.A.  

Judith Hallett & Eric Adler

301-405-2024

jeph@umd.edu

eadler@umd.edu

Communication M.A. Ph.D. Xiaoli Nan &
Kristjana Maddux
301-405-0640
301-405-6533
nan@umd.edu
klmaddux@umd.edu
Comparative Literature   Ph.D. Gerard Passannante 301-405-3809 gpassann@umd.edu
Creative Writing M.F.A.*   Michael Collier 301-405-3819 collierm@umd.edu
English Language & Literature M.A. Ph.D. Kellie Robertson 301-405-3809 krobert@umd.edu
French Modern Studies M.A. Ph.D. Caroline Eades 301-405-4029 ceades@umd.edu
German Language & Literature M.A. Ph.D. Hester Baer 301-405-4101 hbaer@umd.edu
History M.A. Ph.D. Ahmet Karamustafa 301-405-4295 akaramus@umd.edu
Interpreting & Translation M.P.S.   Shawn Parry Giles 301-405-6127 spg@umd.edu
Jewish Studies M.A.   Hayim Lapin 301-405-4296 hlapin@umd.edu
Linguistics   Ph.D. Howard Lasnik 301-405-4929 lasnik@umd.edu
Music M.A., M.M. D.M.A., Ph.D Patrick Warfield 301-405-1274 pwarfiel@umd.edu
Philosophy M.A. Ph.D. Dan Moller 301-405-5689 dmoller@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition M.A. Ph.D. Steve Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Spanish M.A. Ph.D. Ryan Long 301-405-4246 rlong12@umd.edu
Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies M.A., M.F.A.* Ph.D. Esther Kim Lee 301-405-6692 eklee@umd.edu
Women's Studies   Ph.D. LaMonda Horton-Stallings 301-405-6877 lhortons@umd.edu

*MFA = Master of Fine Arts; MPS = Masters of Professional Studies

Certificates

Certificate Offered  Graduate Contact Phone Email
Critical Theory Christina Walter 301-405-3802 cmwalter@umd.edu
Digital Studies in the Arts & Humanities Matthew Kirschenbaum 301-405-8505 mgk@umd.edu
Jewish Studies Hayim Lapin 301-405-4296 hlapin@umd.edu
Museum Scholarship & Material Culture Perla Guerrero     301-405-1359 guerrero@umd.edu
Interpretation and Translation Esperanza Pombo 301-405-8979 epombo@umd.edu
Professional Communication for Enhanced English Fluency Shawn Parry-Giles 301-405-6527 spg@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition Steve Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Women's Studies LaMonda Horton-Stallings 301-405-6877 lhortons@umd.edu