You are here

Graduate Degree Programs

ARHU offers Master’s and Doctoral Degrees, MFA degrees, Masters of Professional Studies, and graduate Certificates:

  • M.A., M.M., Ph.D., and DMA degrees in over 18 disciplines including Art History and Archaeology, American Studies, Classics, Communication, Comparative Literature, English, Germanic Studies, History, Linguistics, Modern French Studies, Philosophy, Theater and Performance Studies, Music (Musicology, Ethnomusicology, Music Performance), Second Language Acquisition, Spanish, and Women’s Studies
  • MFAs and Masters of Professional Studies:  Art (Studio), Creative Writing, Dance, Interpretation, Music Performance, Theater Performance, Theater Design, Translation
  • Certificates: Critical Theory, Jewish Studies, Museum Scholarship and Material Culture, Interpretation, Second Language Acquisition, Translation, Women’s Studies
Program Masters Doctoral Graduate Director(s) Phone Email
American Studies M.A. Ph.D. Christina Hanhardt 301-405-1360 hanhardt@umd.edu
Art History & Archaeology M.A. Ph.D. Joshua Shannon 301-405-1485 shannon1@umd.edu
Art (Studio Art) M.F.A.*   Justin Strom 301-405-7790 jstrom@umd.edu
Classics M.A.   Judith Hallett 301-405-2024 jeph@umd.edu
Communication M.A. Ph.D. Xiaoli Nan &
Linda Aldoory
301-405-0640
301-405-6520
nan@umd.edu
laldoory@umd.edu
Comparative Literature   Ph.D. Gerard Passannante 301-405-3809 gpassann@umd.edu
Creative Writing M.F.A.*   Michael Collier 301-405-3819 collierm@umd.edu
English Language & Literature M.A. Ph.D. Kellie Robertson 301-405-3809 krobert@umd.edu
French Modern Studies M.A. Ph.D. Andrea Frisch 301-405-4028 afrisch@umd.edu
German Language & Literature M.A. Ph.D. Hester Baer 301-405-4101 hbaer@umd.edu
History M.A. Ph.D. Ahmet Karamustafa 301-405-4295 akaramus@umd.edu
Interpreting & Translation M.P.S.   Shawn Perry Giles 301-405-6127 spg@umd.edu
Jewish Studies M.A.   Charles Manekin 301-405-4253 manekinc@umd.edu
Linguistics   Ph.D. Howard Lasnik 301-405-4929 lasnik@umd.edu
Music M.A., M.M. D.M.A., Ph.D Olga Haldey 301-405-4389 ohaldey@umd.edu
Philosophy M.A. Ph.D. Dan Moller 301-405-5689 dmoller@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition M.A. Ph.D. Steve Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Spanish M.A. Ph.D. Juan Carlos Quintero Herencia 301-405-6450 jcquinte@umd.edu
Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies M.A., M.F.A.* Ph.D. Frank Hildy 301-405-3157 hildy@umd.edu
Women's Studies   Ph.D. Ruth Zambrana 301-405-3447 rzambran@umd.edu

*MFA = Master of Fine Arts; MPS = Masters of Professional Studies

Certificates

Certificate Offered  Graduate Contact Phone Email
Critical Theory Christina Walter 301-405-3802 cmwalter@umd.edu
Digital Studies in the Arts & Humanities Matthew Kirschenbaum 301-405-8505 mgk@umd.edu
Jewish Studies Charles Manekin 301-405-4253 manekinc@umd.edu
Museum Scholarship & Material Culture Perla Guerrero     301-405-1359 guerrero@umd.edu
Interpretation and Translation Shawn Parry-Giles 301 405 -6527 spg@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition Steve Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Women's Studies Ruth Zambrana 301-405-3447 rzambran@umd.edu