You are here

Graduate Degree Programs

ARHU offers Master’s and Doctoral Degrees, MFA degrees, Masters of Professional Studies, and graduate Certificates:

  • M.A., M.M., Ph.D., and DMA degrees in over 18 disciplines including Art History and Archaeology, American Studies, Classics, Communication, Comparative Literature, English, Germanic Studies, History, Linguistics, Modern French Studies, Philosophy, Theater and Performance Studies, Music (Musicology, Ethnomusicology, Music Performance), Second Language Acquisition, Spanish, and Women’s Studies
  • MFAs and Masters of Professional Studies:  Art (Studio), Creative Writing, Dance, Interpretation, Music Performance, Theater Performance, Theater Design, Translation
  • Certificates: Critical Theory, Jewish Studies, Museum Scholarship and Material Culture, Interpretation, Second Language Acquisition, Translation, Women’s Studies
Degrees Offered Masters Doctoral Graduate Director(s) Phone Email
American Studies M.A. Ph.D. Christina Hanhardt 301-405-1360  hanhardt@umd.edu
Art History & Archaeology M.A. Ph.D. Joshua Shannon 301-405-1485 shannon1@umd.edu
Art (Studio Art) M.F.A.*   Justin Strom 301-405-7790 jstrom@umd.edu
Classics M.A.   Judith Hallett 301-405-2024 jeph@umd.edu
Communication
 
M.A. Ph.D. Kristy Maddux &
Brooke Liu
301-405-6533
301-405-6524
Comparative Literature   Ph.D. Sheila Jelen 301-405-3839 sjelen@umd.edu
Creative Writing M.F.A.*   Stanley Plumly 301-405-3815 splumly@umd.edu
English Language & Literature M.A. Ph.D. Ralph Bauer 301-405-9647 bauerr@umd.edu
French Modern Studies M.A Ph.D. Andrea Frisch 301-405-4028 afrisch@umd.edu
German Language & Literature M.A. Ph.D. Hester Baer 301-405-4101 hbaer@umd.edu
History M.A. Ph.D. Marsha Rozenblit 301-405-4267 mrozenbl@umd.edu
Interpretation and Translation M.P.S.*   Shawn Parry-Giles 301 405-6527 spg@umd.edu
Jewish Studies M.A.   Charles Manekin 301-405-4253 manekinc@umd.edu
Linguistics   Ph.D. Howard Lasnik 301-405-4929 lasnik@umd.edu
Music M.A., M.M. D.M.A., Ph.D  Olga Haldey 301-405-4389 ohaldey@umd.edu
Philosophy M.A. Ph.D. Mathias Frisch 301-405-5710 mfrisch@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition M.A. Ph.D. Steve Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Spanish M.A. Ph.D. Ryan Long 301-405-6446 rlong12@umd.edu
Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies M.A., M.F.A.*  Ph.D. Frank Hildy 301-405-3157 hildy@umd.edu
Women's Studies   Ph.D. Michelle Rowley 301-405-0981 mrowley1@umd.edu
           

*MFA = Master of Fine Arts; MPS = Masters of Professional Studies

 

Certificates

Certificates Offered Graduate Contact Phone Email
Critical Theory Christina Walter 301-405-3802  cmwalter@umd.edu
Jewish Studies Charles Manekin 301-405-4253 manekinc@umd.edu
Museum Scholarship & Material Culture   Judith Freidenberg  301-405-1420 jfreiden@umd.edu
Interpretation and Translation Shawn Parry-Giles 301 405 -6527 spg@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition Steve Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Women's Studies Michelle Rowley 301-405-0981 mrowley1@umd.edu