You are here

Research Fellowships

The Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship

The College of Arts and Humanities is seeking nominations for the Mary S. Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship for 2018-2019.  The Mary S. Snouffer Scholarship Fund will support up to three fellowships for qualified students pursuing the doctorate in any discipline in the humanities, including the study of language, literature, culture, philosophy, history or the arts.  Preference will be given to students in English, but scholarships can be awarded to students in other disciplines in the humanities and arts.  Recipients of the scholarship shall be selected by a committee appointed by the Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities.  Criteria for selection shall be based upon both academic merit and need.  Each department should put forward its very best candidate and no department should submit more than three nominations.  Proposals should be written with a non-specialist audience in mind.

Applicant Requirements:

  • Must be a graduate student who has reached the dissertation stage.
  • Must have completed all coursework and passed the qualifying examination for the doctorate degree.
  • Students receiving the Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship are expected to enroll full-time and to devote full time to work on their dissertation. To be certified as a full-time student, recipients of the Fellowship must be officially registered for 6 credits of 899.
  • Recipients are not allowed to hold on- or off-campus jobs of more than ten hours per week.

The 9.5-month stipend for the Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship for the 2018-2019 Academic Year is $20,000.  This amount does not cover health benefits and is not tax exempt.

  • The Graduate School will provide a Graduate School Fellowship Tuition Award to cover the candidate's tuition remission for each fellowship recipient. The Award will only cover six credits of 899; students taking additional credits will have to pay for them themselves. The Graduate School will process all paperwork through Student Financial Aid at or 301-314-9000.  The fellowship is non-renewable.

Nominations for the Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship must be received by  March 30, 2018

Nomination packets should be sent as a single pdf from each department and should include the following for each student (in this order):

  • Nomination letter (by Chair or Graduate Director)
  • Project description (2-3 pages) from the nominee. Within the project description, please also outline progress already made, as well as a timeline/schedule for completing the dissertation.
  • Copy of the nominee's CV
  • Letter of recommendation from the nominee's advisor

Send nomination packet to Ashley Richerson Miller at  For further information please contact Trevor Parry-Giles at 301-641-0019 or

Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship Awards for the year 2017-2018:

Jeffrey Griswold, English (Amanda Bailey, advisor), "The Political Animal: Imagining Human Sociability in Early Modern England"

Sara Haq, Women's Studies (Ashwini Tambe, advisor), "Sufiminism: The Sexual, the Spiritual, the Self"


Charles A. Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award

The Charles A. Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award is awarded by the University of Maryland to recognize original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline. Both methodological and substantive quality will be judged. Awards will be given each year in four broad disciplinary areas: 1) Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering; 2) Social Sciences; 3) Humanities and Fine Arts; and 4) Biological and Life Sciences. The Council of Graduate Schools uses these categories for its annual national dissertation awards. Recipients of the Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award will receive an honorarium of $1,000 and may be nominated by the University for the CGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award.

ARHU can submit up to four nominations to the Graduate School for the 2018 award.

Eligibility: PhD dissertations defended and submitted to the Graduate School in the calendar year 2017. This year's selection process will occur in Spring 2018.

Below is a brief description of the nomination process and materials for the College of Arts and Humanities. The department and graduate program director is responsible for compiling the necessary components.

  1. An electronic copy of the whole dissertation in PDF form.
  2. A PDF attachment to include the remaining required elements of the nomination package (with bookmarks, if possible), in the following order:
    • a Distinguished Dissertation Award cover sheet (available here)
    • one letter of nomination from the dissertation supervisor (the College will append its own letter describing the substantive contribution of the dissertation, as per UMD Graduate School guidelines.)
    • a double-spaced abstract of the dissertation in PDF form not to exceed 10 pages (appendices containing non-textual material, such as charts or tables, may be included; the pages should be numbered, and each should bear the name of the nominee)
    • the nominee’s brief CV, not to exceed 4 pages, and including correct contact information
    • the dissertation advisor, in consultation with the student, should indicate in the letter which chapter the ARHU committee should read in detail.

February 1, 2018 is the deadline to submit applications to ARHU for the Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award. Each unit may nominate one dissertation. Nominations should be submitted to Betsy Yuen at on behalf of Trevor Parry-Giles, Chair of the ARHU Graduate Fellowships Committee.

Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award guidelines and nomination forms are available here.


Congratulations to the ARHU recipients of the 2017 Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award:

In Humanities and Fine Arts:

  • Caroline Shields, Ph.D.
  • College of Arts and Humanities, Department of Art History
  • Title: "Objects of Memory: Paul Gauguin and Still-Life Painting, 1880-1901"
  • Dissertation Advisor: Professor June Hargrove, Art History

In Social Sciences:

  • Shota Momma, Ph.D.
  • College of Arts and Humanities, Department of Linguistics
  • Title: "Parsing, Generation, and Grammar"
  • Dissertation Advisor: Professor Colin Phillips, Linguistics


Graduate Student Summer Research Fellowships

Graduate Student Summer Research Fellowships provide support to outstanding doctoral students at “mid-career,” that is, in the period approximately before, during, or after achievement of candidacy, and are intended to enable students to complete a key benchmark in their program's requirements. Summer Research Fellowships typically carry stipends of $5,000. 

Each department or program may submit 2 nominations. Programs must submit their nominations to the Graduate School. Deadline: TBA

**Students should consult their Director of Graduate Studies for their doctoral program’s internal deadline. 

For more information, guidelines, instructions and nomination form, see the Graduate School website here.


Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Completion Fellowships

The Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship is a one-semester fellowship designed to help expedite time-to-degree for students in the final stages of their dissertation writing.  It includes a stipend of $10,000; tuition remission; a credit for mandatory fees; and $800 towards the cost of health insurance. Students are nominated by their departments.

The Graduate School awards approximately 40 Wylie Dissertation Fellowships each year. 

Each department or program may submit 2 nominations. Programs must submit their nominations by February 14, 2018, at noon to the Graduate School.

**Students should consult their Director of Graduate Studies for their doctoral program’s internal deadline. 

For more information, guidelines, and forms, see the Graduate School website here.