You are here

ARHU Spring 2018 Commencement: Saturday, May 19 to Monday, May 21

Time: 
5/20/18 - 9:00 AM to 5/22/18 - 5:30 PM
Location: 
Various Locations

Spring Commencement activities will be held on May 19 through 21, 2018.  The President  will confer degrees at the campus-wide Commencement ceremony, which will begin at 1:00 pm on Sunday, May 20, in the Xfinity Center. Individual ceremonies will be held throughout the campus on Saturday and Monday.

For additional information regarding the Commencement ceremonies, please visit the Commencement website at www.commencement.umd.edu.

Saturday, May 19, 2018

9:00 a.m.

Art History, Department of
Gildenhorn Recital Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
Contact: Theresa Morse, 301.405.1462, tmorse@umd.edu

9:30 a.m.

Music, School of
Dekelboum Concert Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
Contact: Craig Arnold, 301.405.5563, csarnold@umd.edu

10:00 a.m.

Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies, School of
Kay Theatre, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
Contact: Susan Miller, 301.405.6694, smille13@umd.edu

11:30 a.m.

Philosophy, Department of
Gildenhorn Recital Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
Contact: Louise Gilman, 301.405.5689, lgilman@umd.edu

1:30 p.m.

Art, Department of
Kay Theatre, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
Contact: Jennifer Flores, 301.405.7790, jflores4@umd.edu

3:30 p.m

Language, Literature and Cultures, and Film Studies, Departments of
Dekelboum Concert Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
Contact: Josiland Chambers, 301.405.6021, jchamb@umd.edu

6:30 p.m.

Communication, Department of
Reckford Armory
Contact: Carlin Bokal, 301.405.6519, cbokal@umd.edu

Monday, May 21, 2018

9:00 a.m.

History, Department of
Memorial Chapel
Contact: Jodi Hall, 301.405.4268, jlhall@umd.edu

9:30 a.m.

Classics, Department of
Kogod Theatre, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
Contact: Patricia Rhodes-Kelly, 301.405.2014, prhodes@umd.edu

11:00 a.m.

Linguistics, Department of
Marie Mount Hall
Contact: Kim Kwok, 301.405.6901, kkwok@umd.edu

1:30 p.m

English and Comparative Literature
Ritchie Coliseum
Contact: Karen Lewis, 301.405.3825, lewiske@umd.edu

3:00 p.m.

American Studies and Women's Studies, Departments of
Memorial Chapel
Contact: American Studies: Tammi Archer, 301.405.1354, tarcher@umd.edu
Women's Studies: JV Sapinoso, 301.405.6827, sapinoso@umd.edu

Spring 2018 Commencement Honors criteria:

Students are eligible for Commencement Honors if they meet the following criteria:

  • Primary major in ARHU or will have a double degree in ARHU
  • Have earned at least 60 credits at UM by the end of the graduating semester
  • Have a final, cumulative GPA in one of the following credit ranges:

Honors GPA ranges:

  • Summa Cum Laude 4.000-3.975
  • Magna Cum Laude 3.974-3.932
  • Cum Laude 3.931-3.847

All those eligible will be notified shortly before commencement. For more information see UM's Undergraduate Catalog