You are here

Graduate Degree Programs

ARHU offers Master’s and Doctoral Degrees, MFA degrees, Masters of Professional Studies, and graduate Certificates:

  • M.A., M.M., Ph.D., and DMA degrees in over 18 disciplines including Art History and Archaeology, American Studies, Classics, Communication, Comparative Literature, English, Germanic Studies, History, Linguistics, Modern French Studies, Philosophy, Theater and Performance Studies, Music (Musicology, Ethnomusicology, Music Performance), Second Language Acquisition, Spanish, and Women’s Studies
  • MFAs and Masters of Professional Studies:  Art (Studio), Creative Writing, Dance, Interpretation, Music Performance, Theater Performance, Theater Design, Translation
  • Certificates: Critical Theory, Jewish Studies, Museum Scholarship and Material Culture, Interpretation, Second Language Acquisition, Translation, Women’s Studies

Degrees Offered

Masters

Doctoral

Graduate Director(s)

Phone

Email

American Studies

M.A.

Ph.D.

Christina Hanhardt

301-405-1360 

hanhardt@umd.edu

Art History & Archaeology

M.A.

Ph.D.

Joshua Shannon

301-405-1485

shannon1@umd.edu

Art (Studio Art)

M.F.A.*

 

Justin Strom

301-405-7790

jstrom@umd.edu

Classics

M.A.

 

Judith Hallett

301-405-2024

jeph@umd.edu

Communication

M.A.

Ph.D.

Xiaoli Nan &
Linda Aldoory

301-405-0640
301-405-6520

nan@umd.edu
laldoory@umd.edu

Comparative Literature

 

Ph.D.

Gerard Passannante

301-405-3809

gpassann@umd.edu

Creative Writing

M.F.A.*

 

Michael Collier

301-405-3819

collierm@umd.edu

English Language & Literature

M.A.

Ph.D.

Kellie Robertson

301-405-3809

krobert@umd.edu

French Modern Studies

M.A

Ph.D.

Andrea Frisch

301-405-4028

afrisch@umd.edu

German Language & Literature

M.A.

Ph.D.

Hester Baer

301-405-4101

hbaer@umd.edu

History

M.A.

Ph.D.

Ahmet Karamustafa

301-405-4295

akaramus@umd.edu

Interpreting & Translation

M.P.S.

 

Shawn Perry_Giles

301-405-6127

spg@umd.edu

Jewish Studies

M.A.

 

Charles Manekin

301-405-4253

manekinc@umd.edu

Linguistics

 

Ph.D.

Howard Lasnik

301-405-4929

lasnik@umd.edu

Music

M.A., M.M.

D.M.A., Ph.D 

Olga Haldey

301-405-4389

ohaldey@umd.edu

Philosophy

M.A.

Ph.D.

Dan Moller

301-405-5689

dmoller@umd.edu

Second Language Acquisition

M.A.

Ph.D.

Steve Ross

301-405-4246

sross@umd.edu

Spanish

M.A.

Ph.D.

Juan Carlos Quintero Herencia

301-405-6450

jcquinte@umd.edu

Theatre, Dance and Performance Studies

M.A., M.F.A.* 

Ph.D.

Frank Hildy

301-405-3157

hildy@umd.edu

Women's Studies

 

Ph.D.

Ruth Zambrana

301-405-3447

rzambran@umd.edu

*MFA = Master of Fine Arts; MPS = Masters of Professional Studies

 

Certificates

Certificates Offered Graduate Contact Phone Email
Critical Theory Christina Walter 301-405-3802  cmwalter@umd.edu
Digital Studies in the Arts & Humanities Matthew Kirschenbaum 301-405-8505 mgk@umd.edu
Jewish Studies Charles Manekin 301-405-4253 manekinc@umd.edu
Museum Scholarship & Material Culture   Perla Guerrero                         301-405-1359 guerrero@umd.edu
Interpretation and Translation Shawn Parry-Giles 301 405 -6527 spg@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition Steve Ross 301-405-4246 sross@umd.edu
Women's Studies Ruth Zambrana 301-405-3447 rzambran@umd.edu